Incumbents take majority of Mercer County races

Mercer County saw 3,811 voters turn out to cast ballots Tuesday, April 4 for the local election. A 31% voter turnout - out of 12,074 registered voters in the county. Of those, 169 were absentee votes.

Aledo -  Mayor Christopher Hagloch - Citizens Party, will serve four more years. He won by almost 400 votes over challenger Ryan Maynard - Independent.

Mayor Hagloch said he thanked voters, “I’m excited to continue, and I look forward to the next four years - apparently the citizens like what the council and I have brought forward for the last four years, we’re going to try to continue the positive attitude and just keep promoting the city the way we have.” The final vote count was 667-273.

The only contested race for Alderman was in Ward 4, incumbent Terry Bewley- D, won over Patti VanGetson- Ciz. in a vote of 146-69.

Keithsburg - Incumbent Mayor, Independent Allen Henshaw beat out opponent Mike Robbins - Independent, 110-74 to serve another four years. Four ran for three available four year term seats as Alderman at Large, William Pinger II - Ind. had 113 votes, Donnie Cox - Ind. had 102 votes, and Gary Fues-Ind. Came in tih 85. Janet Occhi lost the seat with only 70 votes.

Incumbent New Boston Mayor Christopher DeFrieze - Pep. won the title to serve another four years with 171 votes defeating Rodger Raine - Cit. who received  33 votes.

Alexis residents residing in Mercer County chose Dixie McCreight - Cit. over incumbent Dale Oberhaus - Ppl. 52-34 to serve a four year term. Not including results from Warren County voters.

Joy Village President will remain incumbent Todd Heath - Cit. for another two years with 70 votes, defeating opponent Kaylee Willits - Ind. 13 votes. Four ran for three available four year trustee seats, Ernest Dillie - 70, Paul Hampton - 66, and Don Wilken - 56. Lesley Sheriff lost with 36 votes.


Five ran for four seats on the Mercer County School board, all incumbents took the four year seats, Julie Wagner, 1,586 votes; Tyson Dillavou, 1,505; Talbert Balmer, 1,457: and Don Yates, 1,339. Paul Svoboda came in with 927 votes.

Mercer and Rock Island County’s results for Sherrard School board - Five ran for four - four year term seats, taking those seats are Kim DeBlock, 1002 votes; Dan Helm,978; Rhys Fullerlove, 957; and Troy Wolford, 847. Niels Dybro came in with 442 votes.


Contested Road Commissioner results by township: Mercer Township incumbent road commissioner Mike Miller beat out challenger Phillip Duncan in a 629-419 vote. Abington - incumbent Harvey DeKeyrel, 76; Fred Carlson, 56. Duncan - Dennis Weeks, 57; Ryan Struble, 41. North Henderson - incumbent Dan Cheline, 117; Michael Thompson, 58. Preemption - incumbent Tom Slavish, 239; Larry Neal, 118. Rivoli - incumbent Donald Fowler, 148; Andrew Hast, 95.

In an unusual three-way competition in Perryton township - David Lloyd won the popular vote with 84; Andrew Lower, 55; Flint Price, 32.

Road commissioner is a four year term.

Also in Mercer Township - challenger Terrie VanOpdorp defeats 12-year incumbent Tiffany Newswander in a tight race, 571-511.

Five competed for Four open trustee seats. Tom Lloyd, 802; Jeff Baldwin, 756; Bob Vickrey, 672; and John O’Hearn, 481 earned the vote defeating Jeff Parkinson, 460.