New board members sworn in

Cathy Decker/Staff reporter
Standing from left Brian Anseeuw (District 2), Fred Rooth (District 4), Ron Fullerlove (District 3), Jeff McWhorter (District 1), and Bill Olson (District 5) are sworn in by Mercer County Clerk Phyllis Bewley at the Mercer County Board meeting Dec. 1, 2010.

The Mercer County Board met Wednesday, Dec. 1, for its first meeting of the fiscal year (Dec. 1, 2010 - Nov. 30, 2012), swearing in four new board members and one incumbent. Judge James G. Conway had already sworn in Mercer County Sheriff Tom Thompson and Mercer County Treasurer Mike Bertelsen earlier that day. Mercer County Clerk and Recorder Phyllis Bewley was sworn in by the judge at the board meeting. Bewley then proceeded read the oath of office to the recently elected board members at the start of the first meeting of the fiscal year.

A hearing on this year's county budget (Dec. 1, 2010 to Nov. 30, 2011) was held prior to releasing the old county board members. Leaving the board were David Maynard (District 3), Bill Thorp (District 2), Bob Vickrey (District 1) and Dan Schroeder (District 4). The old board approved the budget for the upcoming year, which is not balanced by around $300,000 in the red.

The budget projects income of $3,850,020 and expenses of $4,139,980, a $289,960 deficit. Of the proposed income $624,000 will come to the county from property taxes. The rest of the receipts to the county come from county fees, income and sales taxes from both federal and state sources. The board also approved a levy for the property taxes of $1.6437 per $100 of assessed valuation. The current estimated equalized assessed valuation for Mercer County is $235,775,981, up from the 2009-2010 EAV of $227,534,343.

Two amendments to the budget were approved prior to accepting the budget - changing a Victim/ Witness Advocate salary to $17,500; and transfer of $7,000 from the general fund to the airport fund. The outgoing board also approved paying claims totaling $191,415.

During the regular board meeting, the first order of business after the oath of office was administered was to elect a chairman and vice chairman of the board. The board approved Maxine Henry as chairman of the board and Fred Utz was approved as the vice-chair.