Other caucuses elect candidates

Cathy Decker/Staff reporter

Monday night's caucuses in Mercer County went off without a hitch, thanks to the weather. Area caucuses selected candidates for the upcoming April 5 Consolidated election. While there are many uncontested races, a few municipalities do have some competition for the offices that are up for election. Listed below are the caucus results:


A People's Party Caucus was held for village trustees and the village president in Joy, with incumbent George Braucht running for the two-year term as president.

Don Wilken, who is currently serving as an appointed trustee, is running for a two-year un-expired term. Three, four-year trustee positions will be on the April ballot including incumbents Kevin Ortberg and Adam Russell. Sandra Tisor, a newcomer, is running as the third trustee.


No caucuses are held in Keithsburg, according to Terri Gibson, Keithsburg City Clerk. "Everybody runs independently," she said.


A Democratic caucus was held in Matherville. Four trustees and the village clerk nominations were decided. There were 20 individuals at the caucus. One contested race was for the village clerk with Karen Adams and Jeanette Guile nominated. Adams received the most votes and will be on the ballot.

For trustees, three were nominated for four-year terms -- Alicia Miller, Buffy Krack and Anji Wilson, all incumbents. A two-year un-expired term will be filled by Carsten Adams, who is leaving a four-year term to fulfill this two-year term.

New Boston

People's and Citizens parties held caucuses in New Boston. mayor, treasurer and aldermen were chosen for each party.

People's Party Mayor candidate for a two-year term is incumbent Dennis Dixon, who will be running against Citizen's party candidate Christopher DeFrieze.

For city treasurer the People's Party nominee was incumbent Audrey Stineman. There was no Citizen's Party candidate.

Aldermen races

Ward 1: People's candidate Mark Fourdyce was nominated for a two-year term and there was no Citizen's Party nominee.

Ward 2: two openings -- one-year alderman, no candidate for either party; two-year People's candidates are incumbents Doug Ramer and Gary Adams. There were no Citizen's Party candidates.

Ward 3: two openings -- one-year alderman, Jeff Marston, People's Party and no Citizen's Party candidate;  two-year term candidate is newcomer Nick Abbadusky from the People's Party who is running unopposed.

New Windsor

Independent's Party caucus was held with five people in attendance. Three, four-year terms and a two-year trustee term are open in the Village of New Windsor. Candidates running for trustee positions are Teresa Gibeau, Duaine Schmitt and Reuben James, all incumbents. No nomination was made for the two-year trustee position. Someone will be appointed.

North Henderson

The People's Party in North Henderson met with 20 voters in attendance. There were three village trustee positions up for election for four-year terms.

Five nominations were made, with the top three vote getters being incumbent Gary McDowell and newcomers Carol Rogers and Barbara Adams, who won the spot in a tie-breaker vote against newcomer Gary Witcomb. Incumbent Karin Simkins was also nominated.


People's Party caucuses were held in Seaton with the city clerk seat and three, four-year trustee positions open for the upcoming April ballot. There were 13 voters in attendance.

Lyle Hall was the only candidate nominated for village clerk.

Trustee nominations included Eric Rudsell, Patty Reaber, Audrey Mendoza, Gary Melton, Robert Springer and William Brock. The top three vote getters were incumbents Brock and Springer and former trustee Melton.


A Citizen's Party Caucus was held in Sherrard on Monday night with 40 village voters in attendance. There were three nominations for the village president position, with Terry Ayers winning the nomination, with 21 votes.  Others nominees were Floyd Creger, 16 votes and Susan Mesa, 3 votes.

Current village president Delbert Henry threw in his hat for one of the three trustee positions that open up April 5. Henry received the top votes for trustee at 22, followed by Paula Rath, 20 and Geraldine Bristow, 19. Other nominees were Chuck Hoexter, 9 votes and Betty Davis, 15 votes. A two-year trustee seat is also open, with top vote getter being Betty Davis with 13 votes. Other nominees were Susan Mesa, 10; Chuck Hoexter, 4, and Donna Rissetto, 10 votes.

According to Sherrard Village Clerk Theresa Johnson, there have been several independent candidate petitions picked up for both the village president and trustee positions.

Village offices are now open Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Wednesdays from 8-11 a.m. The office is closed for lunch between 11-12 each day. Saturday hours are posted on the village web site at


The Anti-License caucus was held in Viola for three trustees positions on the Viola Village Board. All three trustee positions are being sought by incumbents including Sarah Young, Julie Carlson and Sue Mulder.