Jacobs passes the economic development authority bill out of the Senate

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Senator Mike Jacobs (D-Moline) has passed legislation out of the Illinois Senate which adds areas to the Quad-Cities Regional Economic Development Authority.

"This legislation will add JoDaviess, Carroll, Whiteside and Stephenson counties to the Quad-Cities Regional Economic Development Authority," stated Senator Jacobs.  "This legislation will allow these additional counties to benefit from the work the Authority is currently doing in the region."

The goal of the Quad Cities Regional Economic Development Authority is to promote the development of industrial, commercial, residential, service, transportation, recreational activities and facilities throughout the region. The result of their work has been enhancing the employment opportunities,  public health and general welfare of the area. Under this law, the Authority will possess all the powers necessary and convenient to accomplish the purposes of the Act.

Currently, the territorial jurisdiction of the Authority is the geographic area within the boundaries of Rock Island, Henry, Knox, and Mercer counties and any navigable waters and air space located therein. Senate Bill 1755 will increase the territory covered by the Authority to include JoDaviess, Carroll, Whiteside and Stephenson Counties.  

Due to the increase in geographic area covered, the size of the governing body will also increase from 11 to 15 members. The four additional members will be appointed by each of the county board chairpersons of  oDaviess, Carroll, Whiteside, and Stephenson counties with the approval of their county boards.       

"The legislation is important to the area so we can continue to draw business and industry to the 36th Legislative District," stated Jacobs.