‘The Dominator’ rides to Davenport Mod win

Mike McGuire

 A huge field of 103 racecars were at the Davenport Speedway Friday night, including 37 IMCA Modifieds. After three heat races and two semis, it took a last lap pass for ‘the Dominator’ Bob Dominacki to prove he was king of the modified hill on the evening.

Dominacki started on the outside pole of the 20-lap main and used the high side of the slick racetrack to take the early lead. Bob would hold the lead through lap fourteen. Thad Wilson started eleventh and used the bottom of the track to work his way through the field, before taking the top spot on lap 15.

In the final laps, the two were virtually equal with no advantage. On lap 20, Dominacki was able to find enough bite in turns 3&4 to pull ahead and win by less than a car-length. Behind Wilson, Joe Beal, Dean McGee, and Jake Bowman rounded out the top five.

EMS IMCA Modified heat races went to Dominacki, Brian Bushong, and Mitch Morris. Dan Klatt and Craig Crawford won the two semis.

The Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models also had a full field of cars on hand. Kevin Blum, Ray Guss Jr., and Mike Murphy Jr. won the late model heats, while Doug Nigh took the semi.

Blum jumped out to the early lead of the feature, after starting on the pole.  After a handful of laps, Mike Murphy Jr.  grabbed the lead. Murphy would lead the remaining laps and take the win despite a caution on lap 15 that put the field back on his rear bumper.

Terry Neal started eighth and quickly worked his way to second, but could not mount a charge to the lead. Ray Guss Jr. started tenth and took a few more laps to reach the top five, before ending with a third place finish. Nate Buesling traded a sixth row starting spot for a fourth place finish and Mike Garland rounded out the top five.

The Koehler Electric Street Stocks saw Davenport’s Jeremy Marquette stay perfect for the season, winning his third straight feature. Chris Lawrence started on the outside pole and led through the race’s first caution on lap three. Marquette stole the lead following the restart and led the rest of the way to the checkers. After starting deep in the field, Tim Current blasted his way to the second spot, but would have to settle for the runner-up position. Joe Bonney bounced around the top five before finishing third. Early race leader Chris Lawrence took fourth with Cary Brown fifth.

Twenty-one of the twenty-three LuJacks Northpark Auto Plaza 4 Stocks made the call for the feature with three-wide racing throughout the race. Chris James got out to the early lead with a real dogfight going on for the rest of the top five. When the dogfight caught up to the leader, Wade Dahl emerged with the lead. Dahl would hold on for the win. Luke Thurness took a hard fought second place finish. Ken Poole made his first visit to Davenport this year into a third place. Chris James held on for fourth with Jason Blocker completing the top five.

The EMS IMCA Modifieds will again take center stage next Friday, May 27th, at the Davenport Speedway for the IMCA Modified Shootout. The winner of the 40-lap, IMCA Modified feature will earn a $2,000 payday.

The Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models, Koehler Electric Street Stocks, and LuJacks Northpark Auto Plaza 4 Stocks, will also be racing.

Davenport Speedway

May 20, 2011

Results -

Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models

Heat 1: 1. Kevin Blum; 2. Jeremy Gustaf; 3. Stephan Kammerer; 4. Mike Zemo Jr.; 5. Doug Nigh;

Heat 2: 1. Ray Guss Jr.; 2. Mike Garland; 3. Terry Neal; 4. Nate Buesling; 5. Jay Johnson;

Heat 3: 1. Mike Murphy Jr.; 2. Matt Ryan; 3. Jeff Stevens; 4. Fred Remley; 5. Collin Straka;

Semi: 1. Doug Nigh; 2. Brian Harris; 3. Jay Johnson; 4. Joe Ross; 5. Eric Sanders;

Feature: 1. Mike Murphy Jr.; 2. Terry Neal; 3. Ray Guss Jr.; 4. Nate Buesling; 5. Mike Garland; 6. Mike Zemo Jr.; 7. Matt Ryan; 8. Joe Ross; 9. Stephan Kammerer; 10. Kevin Blum; 11. Jay Johnson; 12. Brian Harris; 13. Boone McLaughlin; 14. Eric Sanders; 15. Jeremy Gustaf; 16. Jeff Stevens; 17. Doug Nigh; 18. Fred Remley; 19. Gary Webb; 20. Leroy Brenner;

EMS IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Joe Beal; 3. Thad Wilson; 4. Milo Veloz Jr.; 5. Dan Klatt;

Heat 2: 1. Brian Bushong; 2. Dean McGee; 3. Greg Wilson; 4. Brian Webb; 5. Craig Crawford;

Heat 3: 1. Mitch Morris; 2. Jake Bowman; 3. Mike Fluegel; 4. Doug Crampton; 5. Dwaine Hasson;

Semi 1: 1. Dan Klatt; 2. Kevin Goben; 3. Casey Voss; 4. Ben Traver; 5. Greg Durbin;

Semi 2: 1. Craig Crawford; 2. Dustin Crear; 3. Todd Dykema; 4. Lonnie Heap; 5. Chuck Hanna;

Feature: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Thad Wilson; 3. Joe Beal; 4. Dean McGee; 5. Jake Bowman; 6. Doug Crampton; 7. Dan Klatt; 8. Craig Crawford; 9. Ben Traver; 10. Brian Bushong; 11. Milo Veloz Jr.; 12. Dustin Crear; 13. Casey Voss; 14. Kevin Goben; 15. Greg Wilson; 16. Todd Dykema; 17. Mike Fluegel; 18. BrianWebb; 19. Mitch Morris;

Koehler Electric Street Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Chris Lawrence; 2. Cary Brown; 3. Rob Henry; 4. Gerald Ward; 5. Henry Carson;

Heat 2: 1. Emily Gade; 2. Joe Bonney; 3. Jeremy Marquette; 4. Donnie Louck; 5. Phil Anderson;

Feature: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Tim Current; 3. Joe Bonney; 4. Chris Lawrence; 5. Cary Brown; 6. Rob Henry; 7. Emily Gade; 8. Phil Anderson; 9. Donnie Louck; 10. Bryan Ritter; 11. Gerald Ward; 12. Josh Starr; 13. Jake Gustaf; 14. Henry Carson; 15. Dwayne Smith; 16. RJ Gonzales;

LuJacks Northpark Auto Plaza 4 Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Justin Veloz; 2. Jason Blocker; 3. Nick Bennett; 4. Shawn James; 5. Aaron Hitt;

Heat 2: 1. Chris James; 2. Luke Thurness; 3. Brandon Dahl; 4. Luke Benischek; 5. Chance Huston;

Heat 3: 1. Ken Poole; 2. Wade Dahl; 3. Ted Hines; 4. Lucas Short; 5. Jon Scott;

Feature: 1. Wade Dahl; 2. Luke Thurness; 3. Ken Poole; 4. Chris James; 5. Jason Blocker; 6. Aaron Hitt; 7. Gene Potter; 8. Kevin Haury; 9. Lucas Short; 10. Brandon Dahl; 11. Luke Beneshick; 12. Nick Bennett; 13. Cody Halferty; 14. Jon Scott; 15. Dale Tucker; 16. Shawn James; 17. Ryan McNabb; 18. Chris Knepp; 19. Ted Hines; 20. Chance Huston; 21. Justin Veloz;