Davenport Speedway 8/26/11 Race Results

Mike McGuire

It was Season Championship night, Friday at the Davenport Speedway. Three of the four point leaders capped their titles by winning in the season finale.

Ray Guss Jr., with a rare opportunity to start in the front row, rocketed out to a fair large lead in the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models feature. Guss looked to be unstoppable, until the race’s first and only caution flew on lap 22. On the restart, Ray maintained his lead and drove to his third victory of the year at Davenport, and his third straight track championship.

Nate Bueseling and Stephan Kammerer were locked in a tight battle for second, throughout much of the race. The race and the point standings finished the same way, with Bueseling second, Kammerer third. Matt Ryan came home in fourth. Terry Neal rounded out the top five, after starting last.

Guss, Marty Diercks, and Joe Ross won the late model heats.

The EMS IMCA Modifieds came into the night with five drivers still with a mathematical shot at the track championship. However, Bob Dominacki had only one number on his mind, #1. Dominacki, by being the point leader, started on the pole and led all twenty laps, of the caution-free race. The victory was his sixth feature win on the season.

Thad Wilson started fourth in the feature and quickly got behind the leader, but had to settle for a second place finish. Dean McGee finished a great season at Davenport with a third place, followed by Matt Stein and John Ahlers.

It was not a night for leaders in the Koehler Electric Street Stock main. Point leader, Jeremy Marquette led the first two laps of the race, but made a trip to the pits during the race’s first caution on lap three. Emily Gade grabbed the lead on the restart, but her car erupted in smoke as she crossed the stripe to complete lap five.

The ensuing restart saw Cary Brown lead only one lap before yielding to Phil Anderson. On lap twelve, Marquette roared back into the lead and captured his eighth win in twelve starts this year along with the track championship.

Brown would also get around Anderson to finish second, while Andrew Burk and Henry Carson completed the top five.

Chris James was the only non-champion to collect a feature win on Friday. James took his fourth LuJacks Northpark Auto Plaza 4 Stock win on the season. However it was second place finisher Wade Dahl, who came away with the championship. James took the lead from Dahl on lap four, and never looked back. Luke Thurness posted a third place and was followed by Brandon Dahl and Nick Bennett.

The next race at the Davenport Speedway will be the All-Star Classic on Friday, September 9th. The All Star Classic will be run on the historic half-mile track. The event will feature the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models. Also racing will be IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, and 4 Stocks.

Davenport Speedway

August 26, 2011

Results -

Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models (18 cars)

Heat 1: 1. Marty Diercks; 2. Eric Sanders; 3. Stephan Kammerer; 4. Jeff Stevens; 5. Fred Remley;

Heat 2: 1. Joe Ross; 2. Nate Bueseling; 4. Mike Zemo Jr.; 5. Collin Straka;

Heat 3: 1. Ray Guss Jr.; 2. Travis Denning; 4. Matt Ryan; 5. Mike Garland;

Feature: 1. Ray Guss Jr.; 2. Nate Bueseling; 3. Stephan Kammerer; 4. Matt Ryan; 5. Terry Neal; 6. Marty Diercks; 7. Bart Miller; 8. Travis Denning; 9. Eric Sanders; 10. Joe Ross; 11. Fred Remley; 12. Spencer Diercks; 13. Collin Straka; 14. Mike Zemo Jr.;  

Track Champion: Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.

EMS IMCA Modifieds (15 cars)

Heat 1: 1. John Ahlers; 2. Matt Stein; 3. Dean McGee; 4. Mark Vervynck; 5. Greg Wilson;

Heat 2: 1. Thad Wilson 2. Todd Dykema; 3. Brian Bushong; 4. Brian Webb; 5. Craig Crawford;

Feature: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Thad Wilson; 3. Dean McGee; 4. Matt Stein; 5. John Ahlers; 6. Brian Bushong; 7. Casey Voss; 8. Brian Webb; 9. Todd Dykema; 10. Craig Crawford; 11. Andrew Burk; 12. Mark Vervynck; 13. Greg Wilson; 14. Bruce Fosdyck Jr.;

Track Champion: Bob Dominacki, Bettendorf, Ia.

Koehler Electric Street Stocks (13 cars)

Heat 1: 1. Cary Brown; 2. Henry Carson; 3. Josh Starr; 4. Andrew Burk; 5. Nick Lawrence;

Heat 2: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Emily Gade; 3. Bryan Ritter; 4. Gerald Ward; 5. Phil Anderson;

Feature: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Cary Brown; 3. Phil Anderson; 4. Andrew Burk; 5. Henry Carson; 6. Bryan Ritter; 7. Paul Howard; 8. Nick Lawrence; 9. Gerald Ward;  10. Emily Gade; 11. Josh Starr; 12.  Nick Claussen;

Track Champion: Jeremy  Marquette, Davenport, Ia.

LuJacks Northpark Auto Plaza 4 Stocks (12 Cars)

Heat 1: 1. Brandon Dahl; 2. Luke Thurness; 3. Nick Bennett; 4. Ted Hines; 5. Erick Hood;

Heat 2: 1. Chris James; 2. Wade Dahl; 3. Brandon Dahl; 4. Robert Hines; 5. Gage Neal;

Feature: 1. Chris James; 2. Wade Dahl; 3. Luke Thurness; 4. Brandon Dahl; 5. Nick Bennett; 6. Gage Neal; 7. Robert Hines; 8. Ted Hines; 9. James Parr; 10. Rob Wallker; 11. Erick Hood; 12. Zach Dahl;

Track Champion: Wade Dahl, Blue Grass, Ia.