IHSA Announces Officials of the Year

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2013-14 Officials of the Year in 20 IHSA sports. To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official and levels worked in the IHSA State Series. All of this year’s winners will be recognized at a banquet during the 2014 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held on Saturday, July 19 at the Civic Center in Peoria.

“We are privileged to honor these individuals, along with all officials, for their dedication and commitment to young people,” said IHSA Assistant Executive Director Craig Anderson. “Officiating is often under-appreciated, but it is an incredibly important part of the educational experiences that high school athletics provide. It is important to continue to recognize those who go above and beyond to promote fair play.”

The 2013-14 IHSA Officials of the Year are listed by sport, recipient and hometown below:

Baseball Bob Copas, Elmhurst

Boys Basketball Samuel K. Moran, Lewistown

Girls Basketball Thomas E. Daugherty, Bloomington

Cheerleading Becky L. Weslow, Orland Park

Cross Country David A. Mitchell, Peoria

Dance Candace M. Gadomski, Decatur

Football Octavio Herrera, Jr., Melrose Park

Boys Gymnastics Gregg B. Didech, Barrington

Girls Gymnastics Barbara Oczkowicz, Carol Stream

Boys Soccer Randy S. Brickman, Deerfield

Girls Soccer Gregory R. Shierling, Quincy

Softball Christopher J. Schaefer, Chicago

Boys Swimming & Diving Louis Estes Gantz, Northbrook

Girls Swimming & Diving Janice L. Plack, Des Plaines

Boys Track & Field Jamero J. Rainey, Edwards

Girls Track & Field Robert A. Rice, Danville

Boys Volleyball Mark D. Trapp, Villa Park

Girls Volleyball David A. Sands, Salem

Water Polo Michael A. Mitchell, Palatine

Wrestling Jeff A. Sorensen, Bloomington