Two faculty members earn endowed chairs at Augustana

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Dr. Ellen Hay, professor of communication studies, and Dr. Reuben Heine, professor of geography, recently were named to endowed chair positions at Augustana.

“Endowed faculty positions are important both as a means of supporting the outstanding teaching that is at the core of all we do, and recognizing colleagues who have made remarkable contributions to the college and its mission of preparing students for lives of leadership and service,” said President of the College Steven Bahls.

Dr. Hay was named the Stuart Lee and Virginia (Talbott) Harbour Chair. She has been a member of the faculty at Augustana since 1989. Her areas of expertise include communication assessment, civic engagement and service learning. Dr. Hay has served the college as an interim dean on two occasions, as well as assistant dean and associate dean. She recently led the college’s effort to begin offering a new certificate program in non-profit leadership.

Dr. Hay’s endowed faculty position memorializes Stuart Harbour, a 1943 graduate of Augustana who made his career as an analyst with the Small Business Administration in Washington, D.C., and Virginia Harbour, who taught in the Fairfax County school system.

Dr. Heine was named Augustana College’s Edward Hamming Chair in Geography. He began teaching at Augustana in 2005. His areas of expertise include water resources management, fluvial geomorphology and Geographic Information Systems. On campus, Dr. Heine is known for his enthusiasm and research trips on the Mississippi River, which he conducts with students on the college’s geography research boat bearing the name The Scholar Ship.

Dr. Heine’s endowed faculty position memorializes Dr. Edward Hamming, who founded the Department of Geography at Augustana in 1949 and taught geography for 31 years.