Partlow, Terrill and Russell win Main Street Scholarships

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record
It is our honor to announce the 2015 Aledo Main Street Scholarship recipients are McKayla Partlow, Hannah Terrill and Blake Russell.

The mission of Aledo Main Street is to honor and preserve our past by continuing to improve the appearance, promote and revitalize Aledo’s central business district through teamwork, promotions and marketing.   This scholarship was therefore created for two reasons.  To promote doing businesses in our community by encouraging people to shop locally and secondly, to assist local students in furthering their education as Main Street understands that the youth of our community are our future. Tonight, Aledo Main Street will award 3 - $600 Scholarships to the top 3 vote getters.

 Earning the scholarships this year are Blake Russell, Hannah Terrill and McKayla Partlow.

A total of 18 Mercer County High School Seniors applied for this scholarship.  Shoppers who spent money at local participating businesses were encouraged to vote for their favorite MCHS Senior.  In general, each dollar the shopper spent equated to 1 vote for the student of choice, so $20 spent meant 20 votes for their favorite student.  You might find it interesting to know that within the 24 participating businesses nearly 202,184 votes were cast.  Also, in the past 5 years, over 623,336 votes have cast which equates to over $623,336 re-invested our community.