Mercer Democrats, Republicans elect new chairmen

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record
Newly elected chairman of the Mercer County Democrats, Jan Occhi.

Jay Doherty, the newly elected Chairman of the Mercer County

Republican Central Committee, welcomes every Republican, new or

veteran, to experience the friendliness, respectfulness, and harmony

of the party's monthly meetings.

Eighteen of the twenty elected Precinct Committeepersons were able to

attend the County Convention on Wednesday night. (A complete list of

committeepersons can be found at

Each of the Central Committee officers was elected unanimously:

Jay Doherty – Chair

Linda Sarabasa – Vice-Chair

Laurie Bluedorn – Secretary

Joe Vann – Treasurer

A slate of five delegates and three alternates was also chosen

unanimously for the Illinois Republican State Convention on May 19-21

in Peoria.

A new era began Wednesday (April 13) for the Mercer County Democrats. With the retirement of long-time party chairman Richard "Dick" Maynard, the party's central committee elected Jan Occhi of Keithsburg as the new chairman.

All the officers serve two-year terms.

Jim Campbell was elected vice chairman, Larry Stone, secretary and Jeff McWhorter, treasurer.

Occhi said she's been active in party politics since about 1980.

"Except for two years here, I've been a precinct committeeman all that time," she said. "This will be the second county I've been chairman in."

Occhi, a member of the Keithsburg City Council, previously lived in Knox County and was chairman of the Democratic Party there. She said she's sure being chairman in two different counties over a career in politics is pretty unusual.