CSC Nursing Advisory Committee Appointed

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

The Carl Sandburg College (CSC) Nursing Advisory Committee was appointed by the Board of Trustees at its regular meeting in May. CSC has had community advisory committees for its 40 plus degree and certificate programs since the College’s inception, as required by the Illinois Community College Board and the many external licensing agencies for programs.

Committee members will serve two year terms beginning June 1, 2011, and meet one to four times a year to discuss feedback to keep the program academically and technologically up-to-date and assures current instruction prepares future employees in the best possible manner. The advisory committee is critical to the long-term success of a program.

“The Nursing Advisory Committee is an excellent conduit for discussion and debate among professional and business leadership, alumni, educators and students in regard to nursing,” said Rosemary O’Daniel, assistant professor and coordinator of nursing at CSC. “They provide guidance to the CSC College of Nursing and its faculty and leadership. Their diverse backgrounds and experiences serve as a catalyst to bring together new ideas and objectives to benefit the nursing program.

“We are grateful for the advice, vision and assistance and expertise they provide. The Committee is one of the major communication links between the community, Carl Sandburg College and the Nursing Programs. They provide assistance in the advisory capacity in determining employment opportunities, training needed, promoting the nursing program to the community, student proficiency standards, trends in healthcare, evaluation and data collection, and advising on the transition of the student from program to entry level nursing positions or continuing on to further their educational opportunities in nursing.”

Members of the Nursing Advisory Committee include:

Debbie Rickart, CNO, Galesburg Cottage Hospital, Galesburg; Angie Sharlet, Associate Administrator/ACNO, Galesburg Cottage Hospital, Galesburg; Judy Miller, RN, Education Coordinator, OSF Holy Family Medical Center, Monmouth; Stacy Bainter, RN, Director of Nursing, Knox County Nursing Home, Knoxville; Travis Davis, Director, Galesburg Area Vocational Center, Galesburg; Rhonda Peterson, RN, Maternal-Child Program Supervisor, Knox County Health Department, Galesburg; Crystal Crain, Administrator, Marigold Healthcare & Rehab, Galesburg; Peggy Miller, Director, Delabar Vocational Education, Monmouth; Tracy Owens, Administrator, Seminary Manor, Galesburg; Mary Courtney, RN, Director of CSP Nursing, Bridgeway Inc., Galesburg; Florine Dixon, RN, CNO, Memorial Hospital, Carthage; Judy Klein, RN, DON/VP Resident Services, Hancock County Nursing Home, Carthage; Kathy Berrey, RN, Director of Nursing, OSF Galesburg Clinic, Galesburg; Cathy Smithson, MS, RN, Senior Assistant Administrator, Patient Care, OSF St. Mary Medical Center, Galesburg; Mary Bloomberg, RN, Alumni-Associate Degree Nursing from Carl Sandburg College, Berwick.