Dr. Heidi Storl and Dr. Craig VanSandt named endowed professors at Augustana

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Rock Island, Ill. – Two Augustana College professors have been named to faculty achievement positions.

Dr. Heidi Storl has been appointed the  "freistat" William Freistat Chair for Studies in World Peace, and Dr. Craig VanSandt has been named to the  "harbour" Stuart Lee and Virginia Talbott Harbour Chair in Economics.

Dr. Storl earned her Ph.D. from The Ohio State University and is a professor of philosophy at Augustana. Her specializations include philosophy of mind, clinical ethics and German phenomenology. Dr. Storl is the past chair of the humanities division at Augustana, and she serves as the director of the college’s Texas Medical Center Summer Research Internship Program.

Dr. VanSandt obtained his Ph.D. in management from Virginia Tech, and he is an associate professor of business administration at Augustana. His research interests include organizational climate’s effect on employee behavior, the role of business in society and ethical issues of corporate governance. 

Established in 1992 by Augustana graduate and Kaiser industries executive William Freistat ’40, the Freistat Chair raises awareness of efforts toward world peace and encourages a stronger emphasis on peace studies within the Augustana curriculum. Under the guidance of Dr. Jim Winship and Dr. Van Symons—the first Freistat professors who have since retired—the Freistat endowment has supported multi-disciplinary involvement in peace studies at Augustana through research, seminars, lectures and other programs aimed at increasing the global awareness and experiences of students.

The Harbours established their chair with a gift from their estate because they valued the study of economics for majors and non-majors alike. An alumnus, Stuart Harbour ’43 went on to earn a master’s in business administration from Georgetown University and enjoyed a career as an analyst with the Small Business Administration in Washington, D.C. Virginia Talbott Harbour taught in the Fairfax County Public Schools where she helped establish courses in home economics. Dr. Richard Ballman held the Harbour Chair in Economics from the time of its establishment in 2008 until May 2012, upon his retirement.

About Augustana: Founded in 1860, Augustana College is a selective four-year residential college of the liberal arts and sciences. Augustana is recognized for the innovative program Augie Choice, which provides each student up to $2,000 to pursue a high-impact learning experience such as study abroad, an internship or research with a professor. Alumni include 136 Academic All-Americans, a Nobel laureate, 12 college presidents and other distinguished leaders. The college enrolls 2,500 students and is located along one of the world’s most important waterways, the Mississippi River, in a community that reflects the diversity of the United States.