Illinois Soybean Association Elects New Officers

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record
The Illinois Soybean Association Board of Directors elected new officers August 1 during their meeting in East Peoria. Officers for 2010-11 include front row, left to right, Vice Chairman Matt Hughes of Shirley, Chairman Ron Moore of Roseville; back row, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Dean Campbell of Coulterville, Treasurer Doug Winter of Mill Shoals, Secretary Bill Wykes of Yorkville.

 Ron Moore was re-elected as the Illinois Soybean Association’s (ISA’s) chairman during the Association’s board meeting Sunday, August 1 in East Peoria.

“I look forward to the opportunity to serve Illinois farmers,” Moore said. “I have three areas that I want to see through- the CEO transition as Lyle Roberts retires in October and Craig Ratajczyk takes over; investing our farmer’s checkoff dollars in areas that will improve their bottom line; and educating our decision makers and farmers on issues that affect soybean farmer profitability, such as biodiesel and upcoming 2012 farm bill negotiations. I also am excited about our Yield Challenge program, which will help farmers increase the quantity and quality of the soybean crop in Illinois.”

The Roseville soybean farmer currently serves as an American Soybean Association (ASA) director and vice chairman of the National Sustainable Agriculture Standards Committee.  

Matt Hughes of Shirley was elected as vice chairman and previously served on the board as assistant secretary-treasurer. Bill Wykes takes over as the new secretary, having previously served as treasurer. Doug Winter of Mill Shoals was elected as treasurer after serving as the previous year’s secretary. Dean Campbell of Coulterville joins the officer team as assistant secretary-treasurer.

New Illinois Soybean Association directors are Rob Shaffer of El Paso, who will represent District 6 and replace Jason Lay, and Bill Raben of Ridgway, who will represent District 18 and replace Tim Scates. In District 4, Wykes was re-elected to another term on the board.

ISA is the statewide organization for Illinois soybean growers.  The farmers on its board administer soybean checkoff funds to support research, promotions and educational programs designed to increase demand for Illinois soybeans and administer legislation and membership programs.  Contact ISA at 309-663-7692, or visit