Coverick, Hottle share MVP honors for women’s cross country

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Augustana senior Hannah Hottle (Monmouth-Roseville HS, Monmouth) and sophomore Theresa Coverick (Stagg HS, Palos Park) were selected as co-MVPs for the 2010 cross country season. This is Hottle’s second consecutive MVP award. Hottle, a senior captain, was the top finisher for Augustana in four meets this year, and Coverick was the first Augustana runner to cross the line in three races.

Hottle finished 81st in a time of 19:48 in the Illinois Intercollegiate Championship 5,000 meter race in Normal, Illinois this year. A 36th place finish at the Brissman/Lundeen Invitational at Augustana’s home course in Rock Island, Illinois with a time of 23:26 for the 6,000 meter race and a 16th place finish in a time of 15:41 at the Western Ontario University Invite in London, Ontario, were two more highlights of her season. She also was the 17th place finisher at the CCIW Championship, which Augustana hosted.

Coverick had top finishes at the Northern Illinois Invite (22nd, 20:17) and the Loras Bob Tucker Invite (7th, 23:33). She also led the team at the NCAA Division III regional meet, held at the Augustana’s home course. She finished the 6,000 meter race in a time of 23:10.

Emma Grandgeorge (Sycamore HS, Sycamore) was voted as the Most Valuable Freshman. Grandgeorge was consistently in the Top seven runners for the team, finishing in the top seven in eight of the nine races that she raced in. She was a top five contributor in three of the races, including the NCAA Division III Regional meet. Her time of 24:36 for the 6,000 meter race was one of her fastest of the year.

Two Vikings split the Most Improved Runner award, junior Angela Pisani (York HS, Elmhurst) and freshman Alexandra Blust (York HS, Elmhurst). Pisani was a Top seven finisher for the team multiple times this season and Blust had a solid first year competing for the Vikings. Senior Brittany Prazak (Naperville North HS, Naperville) and sister, sophomore Jennifer Prazak (Naperville North HS, Naperville), won the Eric Vortman Viking Spirit Award.

Current seniors Hannah Hottle and Brittany Prazak were honored for their contributions as team captains during the 2009 season. The captains-elect for 2010 are Pisani, Melissa Lehpamer (Plainfield South HS, Plainfield) and Sarah Johnson (Grayslake North HS, Lake Villa).

Veteran head coach Fred Whiteside recently finished his 29th season at the helm of the Vikings’ cross country program.

Augustana competed in a dual meet with St. Ambrose to start the season on Sept. 1 at Sunset Marina in Rock Island. The Vikings won the Western Illinois Invitational in Macomb on Sept. 3. They placed second in the St. Ambrose Invitational in Davenport, Iowa on Oct. 23 and the Loras Bob Tucker Invitational in Dubuque, Iowa on Oct. 15. A third place finish at the Western Ontario Invitational Oct. 7 highlighted a trip to Canada midseason. They also finished third at the JV Cup in Decorah, Iowa on Nov. 5. The Vikings earned a fourth place finish at the Northern Illinois Invite in DeKalb on Sept. 11 and fifth at the CCIW Championship held in Rock Island on October 30.