Lloyd places in top 12 at pageant

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

The Illinois Association of Agricultural Fairs (IAAF) crowned Jackie Driscoll, Miss Henry County Fair, the 2011 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen Sunday evening.

Mercer County Fair Queen Briley Lloyd of Aledo was a finalist in the contest.

The Miss Illinois County Fair Queen Pageant was held at the Crowne Plaza in Springfield as part of the 101st annual convention of the IAAF.

Jackie, of Cambridge, is the daughter of Mike and Laurie Driscoll and Jamie and Gene Lang. The 20-year-old attends Monmouth College, where she is majoring in history for secondary education.

 "I want to congratulate Miss Driscoll on being crowned the 2011 queen - the first ever from Henry County," State Ag Director Tom Jennings said. "I also want to congratulate the other individuals who participated in this year's pageant, as they are all intelligent, talented young ladies who have represented their counties very well."

As Illinois County Fair Queen, Jackie will reign over the 2011 Illinois State Fair, Aug. 12-21, and the Du Quoin State Fair, Aug. 26-Sept. 5.

"This is so unexpected. It's amazing. I'm still waiting to wake up," Driscoll said. "I can't wait to get to work and proudly represent Henry County and the state of Illinois."

The judges selected Miss Warren County Fair, Marcela Gillen of Monmouth, as first runner-up. Miss Williamson County Fair, Emily Travis of Belknap, was named second runner-up.

The remaining nine finalists included Miss Champaign County Fair, Ainsley Reiser of Champaign; Miss Christian County Fair, Alicia Schneider of Morrisonville; Miss Effingham County Fair, Christin Hartke of Effingham; Miss Iroquois County Fair, Patricia Edris of Milford; Miss Macon County Fair, Brittany Childress of Decatur; Miss McHenry County Fair, Mary Ellen Walter of Crystal Lake; Miss Mercer County Fair, Briley Lloyd of Aledo; Miss Moultrie-Douglas Fair, Shelby Greger of Villa Grove; and Miss Sangamon County Fair, Katy Duewer of Waverly.

Non-finalist competition awards were presented to Miss White County Fair, Tailor Frymire from Carmi, for interview competition; Miss Greene County Fair, Alexandra Flatt from Carrollton, for stage presence competition; Miss Macoupin County Fair, Megan Broom from Carlinville, for communication skills competition; and Miss Schuyler County Fair, Mallory Ervin from Rushville, for beauty and physique.

The Ruby Crum Memorial Award for charm and enthusiasm known as the "Spark Plug Award" was presented to Miss Farmer City/DeWitt County Fair, Cecilee Rhea of Farmer City.

A total of 66 contestants participated in the 52nd annual IAAF pageant.