U.S. Sen. Mark Kirk to deliver 151st commencement address

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Sen. Mark Kirk, R-Ill., will be the keynote speaker at Augustana College’s 151st Commencement Convocation on Sunday, May 22, at 3 p.m. at the i wireless Center (1201 River Dr., Moline, Ill.). The public is welcome and encouraged to attend.

Kirk, a native of Champaign, earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Cornell University, a master’s degree from the London School of Economics and a J.D. from Georgetown University. He was sworn in as the United States senator from the state of Illinois in November 2010 and currently serves on the committees of Appropriations; Banking, Housing and Urban Development; Health, Education, Labor and Pensions; and the Special Committee on Aging.

Kirk most recently represented Illinois’ 10th District in the House of Representatives for five terms and became the first House member to deploy to an imminent danger area since 1942 when he was deployed to Kandahar, Afghanistan, from December 2008 to January 2009 to serve as a special advisor for counternarcotics. Kirk was commissioned as an intelligence officer in the United States Navy Reserve and currently holds the rank of commander.  

Before beginning his career as an elected representative for the people of Illinois, Kirk worked as a staff member for former Illinois Congressman John Porter; special assistant to the assistant of the secretary of state; private practice lawyer; and counsel for the House of International Relations Committee.

The Rev. Tom Grevlos will deliver the baccalaureate sermon at 10 a.m. on Sunday, May 22, in Centennial Hall (3703 7th Ave.)

Grevlos earned his bachelor’s degree from Augustana College, Sioux Falls, S.D., and his M. Div. at Luther Seminary in St. Paul. Minn., and was ordained in 1986. He has served at several churches, including Spirit of Joy in Woodlands, Texas. He is now the senior pastor at Our Saviours Lutheran Church in Naperville, Ill., and also serves as a member of the Augustana (Ill.) Board of Trustees.