Summer Series to Invade Davenport Speedway

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

 An excellent field of IMCA late model stars and cars are expected to be on hand when the Deery Brothers Summer Series makes their annual visit to the Davenport Speedway Friday, April 16. The event is sponsored by O’Reilly Auto Parts.

Twelve different drivers have captured Deery Brothers wins at Davenport. Jeff Aikey of Waterloo has four victories at Davenport and is the only driver to be a repeat winner.

The Deery Brothers series has yielded three 1st-time series winners at Davenport, in recent years. In 2005, Darin Duffy of Hazelton, earned his first Deery trophy. Mark Preston, of Port Byron, collected his only series win in 2007. Marty Diercks of Bettendorf, was the official winner in 2008.

Last year’s winner was Mark Burgtorf of Quincy. Sixty-one late models competed in last year’s race.

Also racing at the Deery Brothers at Davenport will be Pro Mods, Street Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, and 4 Stocks. IMCA Modifieds will run for national, ButlerBuilt North Central Region and Allstar Performance State points Friday.

Pay out for the support classes will be the same as the weekly purse. Weekly rules will apply to all the support classes. Rules can be found on the DRT TRAK Racing website.

Pit gates at Davenport open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5pm. Hot laps are at 6pm and racing starts at 6:3 0p.m.

The Davenport Speedway is located at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds, on West Locust Street, in Davenport.

For more information on events at the Davenport Speedway, visit our website at, or call (563) 249-1387.