Marquette claims Back Row Challenge money at Davenport

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

Friday was Casey’s General Store Mid-Season Championships at the Davenport Speedway. The evening’s racing program featured a draw/redraw format and a Back Row Challenge for the current point leader in each division. Two of the four point leaders, Jeremy Marquette and Kelly Meyer, accepted the challenge and decided to start last in the feature for a chance to win extra money.

The gamble paid off for Koehler Electric Street Stock point leader Jeremy Marquette. Marquette started the 15-lap main in 15th position and had moved up to third by the end of the fourth lap. He then joined a spirited battle for the lead between Emily Gade and Scott Griffin.

Griffin would take the lead form Gade on lap eight, only to have it taken away by a caution flag. Following the restart, Griffin would again pass Gade for the lead. It was a lead he would have for only one lap.  

Marquette zipped past Griffin for the lead and would cruise to the win, and the Back Row Challenge money. Griffin would hold for second with Gade crossing the stripe in third. Keith Blum and Phil Anderson closed out the top five.

Kelly Meyer also took the Back Row Challenge in the 20-lap EMS IMCA Modified feature. Matt Werner jumped out to the early race lead and held the top spot to lap eight. Thad Wilson started ninth and used the bottom of the racetrack to take the lead on lap nine.

Wilson and Bob Dominacki would then battle for lead for several laps, before Dominacki took the point on lap 16. Dominacki went on to take his first point win of the season, while Wilson clipped an infield tire in the final corner and finished 12th. Werner finished second, ahead of Tony VonDresky. Tim Arp started 15th and finished fourth, with Kelly Meyer coming from the tail to take fifth.

Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model point leader, Mike Murphy Jr., declined the Back Row Challenge and it proved to be a good decision, as he collected his third feature win of the season. Murphy started the 25-lap, caution-free main in the front row, on the outside of Matt Ryan. But it was Ryan that shot out to the early lead. Ryan was under constant attack by Murphy and Ray Guss Jr., but held the lead until lap 11.

Murphy used a higher line to get by Ryan, but couldn’t  shake Guss. Guss would take the lead on lap 17, with Murphy coming back to the point on lap 21. Murphy and Guss would finish one-two, with Stephan Kammerer taking third. Matt Ryan held on for fourth, with Nate Bueseling fifth.

Roto-Rooter 4 Stock leader, Aaron Hitt declined the challenge and elected to start second. Pole sitter Tristin Clark led lap one with Hitt grabbing the lead on lap two. Tenth place starter Jake Ellithorpe forced his way into the lead on lap seven. Twenty-first place starter, Mitch Bielenberg, flew through the field and would get to Ellithorpe’s rear bumper, but would go no further.

Ellithorpe took his third win of the year, while Bielenberg settled for second. Ricky Kay finished third, with Gage Neal and Hitt rounding out the top five.

Racing returns to the Davenport Speedway next Friday, June 29th for the second Kid’s Night of the season.

Davenport Speedway

June 22, 2012

Results -

Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models

Heat 1: 1. Gary Webb; 2. Ray Guss Jr.; 3. Spencer Diercks; 4. Andy Nezworski; 5. Joe Ross;

Heat 2: 1. Brian Harris; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Chuck Hanna; 4. Matt Ryan; 5. Mike Garland;

Heat 3: 1. Nate Bueseling; 2. Mike Zemo Jr.; 3. Stephan Kammerer; 4. Mike Murphy Jr.; 5. Marty Diercks;

Feature: 1. Mike Murphy Jr.; 2. Ray Guss Jr.; 3. Stephan Kammerer; 4. Matt Ryan; 5. Nate Bueseling; 6. Chuck Hanna; 7. Mike Zemo Jr.; 8. Spencer Diercks; 9. Justin Kay; 10. Gary Webb; 11. Andy Nezworski; 12. Travis Denning; 13. Mike Garland; 14. Marty Diercks; 15. Brian Harris; 16. Bart Miller; 17. Dave Stichter; 18. Collin Straka; 19. Joe Ross; 20. Jon Coombs; 21. LeRoy Brenner;

EMS IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Matt Stein; 2. Jake Bowman; 3. Todd Dykema; 4. Matt Werner; 5. John Ahlers;

Heat 2: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Kevin Blum; 3. Tony VonDresky; 4. Brian Webb; 5. Doug Crampton;

Heat 3: 1. Kelly Meyer; 2. Thad Wilson; 3. Dean McGee; 4. Aaron Burroughs; 5. Craig Crawford;

Feature: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Matt Werner; 3. Tony VonDresky ; 4. Tim Arp; 5. Kelly Meyer; 6. Doug Crampton; 7. John Ahlers; 8. Matt Stein; 9. Brian Webb; 10. Bruce Fosdyck Sr.; 11. Aaron Burroughs; 12. Thad Wilson; 13. Dean McGee; 14. Todd Dykema; 15. Jake Bowman; 16. Jordan Hicks; 17. Keith Blum; 18. Craig Crawford;

Koehler Electric Street Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Emily Gade; 2. Cord Williams; 3. Scott Griffin; 4. Henry Carson; 5. Ryan Claeys;

Heat 2: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Keith Blum; 3. Cary Brown; 4. Kevin Dickey; 5. Josh Starr;

Heat 3: 1. Phil Anderson; 2. Gerald Ward; 3. Matt Jefferson; 4. Dwaine Hasson; 5. Jeremy Gustaf;

Feature: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Scott Griffin; 3. Emily Gade; 4. Keith Blum; 5. Phil Anderson; 6. Cord Williams; 7. Ryan Claeys; 8. Kevin Schloemer; 9. Gerald Ward; 10. Matt Jefferson; 11. Bryan Ritter; 12. Cary Brown; 13. Henry Carson; 14. Dwaine Hasson;

Roto Rooter 4-Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Ricky Kay; 2. Randy Sinning; 3. Brandon Dahl; 4. Jake Morris; 5. Nick Bennett;

Heat 2: 1. Jake Ellithorpe; 2. Aaron Hitt; 3. Eric Stogdell; 4. Zach Dahl; 5. Kyle Rhoads;

Heat 3: 1. Gage Neal; 2. Tristin Clark; 3. Steve Boyle; 4. Brent Bonney; 5. Justin Fink;

Feature: 1. Jake Ellithorpe; 2. Mitch Bielenberg; 3. Ricky Kay; 4. Gage Neal; 5. Aaron Hitt; 6. Zach Dahl; 7. Eric Stodgell; 8. Brandon Dahl; 9. Jake Morris; 10. Brent Bonney; 11. Tristin Clark; 12. Nick Bennett; 13. Andy Loy; 14. Steve Boyle; 15. Kyle Rhoads; 16. Eric Hood; 17. James Parr; 18. Randy Sinning; 19. Justin Fink;