IHSA Announces 2014-15 Officials of the Year

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2014-15 Officials of the Year in 20 IHSA sports. To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official, and levels worked in the IHSA State Series. All of this year’s winners will be recognized at a banquet during the 2015 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held on Saturday, July 18 at the Embassy Suites in East Peoria.

“I commend all of the IHSA officials who give back to the games that they love,” said IHSA Executive Director Marty Hickman. “Officiating is a tough job and these individuals deserve the respect of the coaches, student-athletes and fans. It’s important for the Association to take the time each year to recognize these individuals. Not only for their excellence in officiating, but also for the extra work they do behind the scenes to improve as officials, grow their Officials Associations, or mentor newer officials. My hat is off to this deserving group.”

Sport Official of the Year, Hometown

Boys Soccer Joe Bean, Springfield

Girls Soccer Tony Baines, Virden

Football John Widmayer, Woodstock

Boys Basketball Leonard Sanford, Matteson

Girls Basketball Keith Nykiel, Downers Grove

Baseball Jim Hayden, Roscoe

Softball Larry Haywood, Country Club Hills

Girls Volleyball Julie Terstriep, Industry

Boys Volleyball Jason Palmer, Chicago

Boys Swimming Fred Gafrick, Bartlett

Girls Swimming Doug Surch, Wheaton

Water Polo Andrew Mattson, Madison (WI)

Cross Country Lonnell Poole, Richton Park

Boys Track Geza Ehrentreu, Rockford

Girls Track Richard Skirball, Granite City

Wrestling Jack Wiesneth, Libertyville

Boys Gymnastics Alan Galatte, Palatine

Girls Gymnastics Vicki Munch, Arlington Heights

Competitive Cheer Angie Wilmington, Chillicothe

Dance Lynn Gelatka, Beecher