Macomb tops United for PBCA Invite championship

Staff Writer
Aledo Times Record

The Macomb Bombers volleyball team defeated United in three games in the PBCA Invitational tournament championship held at Carl Sandburg College in John Lewis Gym Sept 11. It was the second day of games in the two-day tournament.

Friday, Pool A results: Game one, United defeated BPCA 25-10 and 25-13.  Game two, Sherrard defeated Williamsfield 25-14 and 25-17. Game three, United defeated Ridgewood in three games, 23-25, 25-21, and 15-12. Game four, BPCA defeated Williamsfield in three games, 22-25, 25-8, and 15-13.

Friday, Pool B results:  Game one, Knoxville defeated Abingdon 25-19 and 25-15.  Game two, Macomb defeated ROWVA 25-17 and 25-11. Game three, Knoxville defeated West Central 25-13 and 25-14. Game four, ROWVA defeated Abingdon 25-18 and 25-23.

Saturday Pool A results:  Ridgewood defeated Sherrard 25-23 and 25-18. United defeated Williamsfield 25-11 and 25-19. Sherrard defeated BPCA in three games, 25-20, 24-26, and 15-10. Ridgewood defeated Williamsfield 25-12 and 25-15.  United defeated Sherrard 25-11 and 25-23. Ridgewood defeated BPCA 25-21 and 25-8.

Saturday Pool B results: Macomb defeated West Central 25-13 and 25-15.  Knoxville defeated ROWVA 25-21 and 25-22. Macomb defeated Abingdon 25-5 and 25-15. West Central defeated ROWVA 25-9 and 25-16. Macomb defeated Knoxville in three games, 25-14, 26-27, and 15-13. West Central defeated Abingdon in three games, 25-12, 23-25, and 15-9.

The consolation match was between Knoxville and Ridgewood for third and fourth places. Ridgewood defeated Knoxville 25-17 and 25-16. Ridgewood received third place while Knoxville received fourth place. The Championship match was between Macomb and United for first and second places. Macomb defeated United in three games, 19-25, 25-20 and 15-10. Macomb received first place while United received 2nd place.

The members of the All Tournament Team were as follows: Abbey Warner of Sherrard, Grace Cleair of ROWVA, Hanna Swanson of Ridgewood, Taylor Gladfelter of Williamsfield,  Gretchen Higgins of West Central, Emily Albright of Knoxville, Ashley Kruger of Ridgewood,  Lexa Mahr of Macomb, Haley Jones of Knoxville, Katie Kaywood of United, Gina Long of United, Samantha Kammerman of Sherrard, and Ella Teel of Ridgewood. Along with that group were two Co-MVP’s for the All-Tournament Team, Brittany Troline of Macomb and Bridjet Blout of BPCA.