Aikey takes All-Star Classic and Deery Crown

Mike McGuire

All eyes at the All-Star classic were on the battle for the Deery Brothers championship, between Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, and Andy Eckrich of Oxford. The series' two top point-getters did not disappoint the crowd.

Justin Kay jumped out to the early lead of the 40-lap main. Aikey swiped the lead on lap 3 and would hold the top spot until his closest rival for the title, Andy Eckrich took the lead on lap 13. Eckrich held the lead until Aikey zipped by on lap 33, and drove away for the win.

Aikey's win was his fifth Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at the Davenport Speedway. The victory also put an exclamation point on his seventh Deery Brothers championship.

Andy Eckrich would finish second in the race and the point standings. Brian Harris, driving the Richard Realty #15, took third. Ray Guss Jr., was fourth and Denny Eckrich fifth.

Harris, Denny Eckrich, Stephan Kammerer, and Guss were heat winners. Mike Garland and Nate Bueseling won the B-Mains.

Davenport's version of "the BIG ONE" came on a lap 17 restart, when at least six cars piled up in turn four. No one was seriously hurt.

Bob Dominacki emerged victorious in the IMCA Modified feature. Dominacki used the high side of the half-mile track to secure the win.

Ron Barker snatched the lead from the pole position and led laps one through twelve. Mark Verbeck grabbed the lead after a lap 13 restart, but his lead would be short-lived. Dominacki took the lead on lap 15, with Verbeck bringing out the caution a lap later, when he found the turn four wall.

Dominacki led the remaining laps for the win. Barker finished a close second. Rich Smith ran top five all race long, before taking third. Kelly Meyer finished fourth after starting in the last row. Eric Barnes rounded out the top five.

In Street Stock action, Jeremy Marquette proved he could get it done on the half-mile as well as the quarter. Marquette started mid-pack and made his way into the lead by lap 5. Marquette led the rest of the way to the checkers. Dwaine Hasson stayed within striking distance, but could not make a bid for the lead. Chuck Fox finished a solid third with David Brandies fourth, and Andrew Burk completing the top five.

Shaun Slaughter made his visit to the Davenport Speedway pay off with a win in the 4-Stock feature. Slaughter started on the pole and led every lap of the race. Joe Zrostlik started directly behind Slaughter and would finish the same. Aaron Hitt took third. Nick Bennett came from well back in the field to take fourth with Josh Starr fifth.

Next Friday, September 28th, will be the final race of the 2012 season at the Davenport Speedway. The featured attraction will be the Brockway Roofing & Mechanical Sprint Invaders. Also racing will be 4-Stocks and IMCA-style Late Models. All races will be on the half-mile oval.

Davenport Speedway

September 22, 2012

Results -

Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models

Heat 1: 1. Brian Harris; 2. Jay Johnson; 3. Andy Nezworski; 4. Tommy Elston; 5. Matt Ryan;

Heat 2: 1. Denny Eckrich; 2. Joel Callahan; 3. Andy Eckrich; 4. Mike Garland; 5. Tom Goble;

Heat 3: 1. Stephan Kammerer; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Dan Shelliam; 4. Mike Zemo Jr.; 5. Brunson Behning;

Heat 4: 1. Ray Guss Jr.; 2. Jeff Aikey; 3. Mike Murphy Jr.; 4. Nate Bueseling; 5. Jason Utter;

Semi #1: 1. Mike Garland; 2. Matt Ryan; 3. Tom Goble; 4. Fred Remley; 5. Darrell DeFrance;

Semi #2: 1. Nate Bueseling; 2. Mike Zemo Jr.; 3. Jason Utter; 4. Spencer Diercks; 5. Brunson Behning;

Feature: 1. Jeff Aikey; 2. Andy Eckrich; 3. Brian Harris; 4. Ray Guss Jr.; 5. Denny Eckrich; 6. Justin Kay; 7. Mike Garland; 8. Andy Nezworski; 9. Joe Zrostlik; 10. Darrell DeFrance; 11. Jay Johnson; 12. Jeff Mitrisin; 13. Tom Goble; 14. Jonathan Brauns; 15. Mike Zemo Jr.; 16. Fred Remley; 17. Joel Callahan; 18. Mike Murphy Jr.; 19. Dan Shelliam; 20. Jason Utter; 21. Nate Bueseling; 22. Matt Ryan; 23. Stephan Kammerer; 24. Spencer Diercks;

Non-Sanctioned IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Bob Moyer; 2. Matt Werner; 3. Eric Barnes; 4. Doug Pratt; 5. Bob Dominacki;

Heat 2: 1. Mark Verbeck; 2. Ron Barker; 3. Rich Smith; 4. Terry Rentfro; 5. Craig Crawford;

Feature: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Ron Barker; 3. Rich Smith; 4. Kelly Meyer; 5. Eric Barnes; 6. Craig Crawford; 7. Bob Moyer; 8. Terry Rentfro; 9. Scott Powell; 10. Mark Verbeck; 11. Matt Werner; 12. Doug Pratt;

Street Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Phil Anderson; 3. Rick Schriner; 4. David Brandies; 5. Andrew Burk;

Heat 2: 1. Dwaine Hasson; 2. Cord Williams; 3. Chuck Fox; 4. Jimmy Comins; 5. Marcus Ostofi;

Feature: 1. Jeremy Marquette; 2. Dwaine Hasson; 3. Chuck Fox; 4. David Brandies; 5. Andrew Burk; 6. Tim Hazen; 7. Marcus Ostofi; 8. Jimmy Comins; 9. Phil Anderson; 10. Erick Turner; 11. Rick Schriner; 12. Dave Hedrick; 13. Cord Williams;


Heat 1: 1. Shaun Slaughter; 2. Ryan Walker; 3. Aaron Hitt; 4. Eric Stogdell; 5. Rob Nylin;

Heat 2: 1. Joe Zrostilk; 2. Jolsh Starr; 3. Andy Loy; 4. Randy Carmichael Jr.; 5. Kyle Rhoads;

Feature: 1. Shaun Slaughter; 2. Joe Zrostlik; 3. Aaron Hitt; 4. Nick Bennett; 5. Josh Starr; 6. Andy Loy; 7. Rob Nylin; 8. Greg Durbin; 9. Randy Carmichael Jr.; 10. Rob Brasher; 11. Kyle Rhoads; 12. Justin Fink; 13. Ryan Walker; 14. James Parr; 15. Eric Stogdell; 16. Cameron Pocci;